top of page

Q&A with Airbus UK Broughton Photographer John Pickles!



Our very own Adam Doyle sat down with Airbus UK Broughton's photographer, John Pickles for a questions and answers session.


So, John, what inspired you to get involved in photography?


“In the late sixties and seventies, we had great photos in the newspapers from Vietnam and Northern Ireland. There was a photographer called Don McCullin who used to do people photography during the conflicts, and it was his work that inspired me to pick up the camera.”


What is so special about photography in your opinion?


“I love capturing the emotion of people. It all started with the football side of things when a mate of mine who played for a great Sunday league side, The Avenue, asked me to come down and take some shots of the games.


"From there Cammell Lairds started to make a lot of people redundant and many of my friends ended up working in Broughton. The natural progression then was to go there and photograph them. That’s my first link with Airbus in that I went up on a Saturday to Broughton, took the film as it was then, went to Boots and then passed it out to the lads on Thursday.


"I wish I kept some of them looking back now."


When you’re walking around the pitch looking for the right spot to get your photos, what are you looking for?


“I see the football pitch like a conflict ground, almost like the warzone I saw growing up in Don McCullin’s photos. It’s always defence against attack and emotion is at the heart of it. The euphoria of scoring a goal and the heart ache of conceding.


"My gut can follow a football game and it tells me where to go. It’s all about reading how the match is going and what position to take up so that I can take the best shot possible.


"The first twenty minutes, you have to look out to gauge who is on song in each particular game. I’ve been at Airbus a good few months now so I like to think I’ve learnt how we play and who can influence the games."





Have you every dabbled in professional photography?


"I’ve had successful times doing photography for agencies, but I never liked the pressure. It was always a hobby of mine and stepping over to agency work didn’t suit me, not least because I usually finished work 12:30 of a Saturday. I need to feel a connection to get the best shots.


"Naturally with any new ventures it takes time and that was the same here. I’m sure if you look back at some of the earlier shots they are not as good as the stuff now. I’d put that down to a number of reason but one definitely being I feel closer to the action."


Do you only aim to capture the side you’re representing or are you open to snapping the best moments for both teams?


"You want to get the best shots for the club you’re working with of course but I just love taking the photos and what comes of it, well, I find out at the end of the day.


"It's great to be able to take a shot of one of our lads or an opposition player and then pass it on to them. Capturing those moments is really important and special. It’s really rewarding for me to be able to do that."

6 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page